Waiting

  • for finals week to start, then be over, all 80 essays graded.
  • for spring break to begin so I can get some non-grading work and reading done.
  • for a break from all that spring break work so I can blog about the absolutely hilarious faux pas I’ve come across in the cover letters I’ve been reviewing for our open positions.
  • for a letter telling me whether or not my NEH summer seminar application was accepted.
  • for warmer weather, so I can start half marathon training again without freezing toes (2009 post half marathon training injuries all but forgotten).
8 responses to “Waiting

  1. I’m excited to hear about this faux pas so I can put it on my list of “Things NOT To Do” when I’m on the job market–which seems like in forever.

    Good luck with your running! I’m trying to decide if I want to run a half marathon or stick with the smaller races.

  2. Thank you all for the good lucks. And yes, Eng Adj, consider a 1/2 if you have done 10K’s before: we can share training tips;-)

    Our spring break is supposedly a week, but of course since grades are not due until next Tuesday, it’s really only 3 days (sigh).

    BUT, I worked all night and finished going thru the nearly 200 files/cover letters/CVs: and yes, a blog posting on them is most definitely in order. In fact, I almost wish I could send such a blog post to the many many folks who will not be named so that they can FIX the problems before sending out the same letter again. Sigh.

  3. Alright, now I’m tempted to take you up and run that half! The one I would run is not even until October, so I know that is more than plenty of time to train.

  4. October!! You have more than enough time: the one I signed up for is in June. Then, I may do another in October (unless I stupidly overdo it again).

Leave a Reply

