in Just

[with apologies to e.e. cummings]

eecummings

in Just
finals week      when the campus is snow-
luscious the stressed out students

cry and heave     far     and    wee

and tiffanyandryan come
straggling into my office with
deadgrandmother and lostthumbdrive stories and it’s
finals week

when the campus is drunk-wonderful (on thoughts of spring break)

the joy-less
professor down the hall drones at me
far    and  wee
and brittanyandchase come stoned to the final

from snowboardingandpartying and

it’s
finalsweek
and
the
joy-less droning


professordownthehall  whines, yet again,
“Can I have a minute of your time, Annie Em?”
far
and
wee

 

 

6 responses to “in Just

  1. I’m laughing, nodding, and practically jumping up and down with glee, I love this so much! Brava, Annie Em!

  2. Thank you, Ink! I need to add a line about how much fun it was to do that little exercise as a respite from the final essays piled on my desk (and really, that prof down the hall came by AGAIN—;-)

  3. Again? Geez. Maybe you need a little sign for your door that says something like *Attention! Annie Em is Working! Thanks For Visiting But Please Go Away.* Hey, come to think of it, I bet most profs could use a sign like that…

  4. It’s a lovely thought, but get this: even with my door closed, and I note saying that I would not be on campus until 4pm (lying thru my teeth) I hear people listen for the tell-tale typing on the keyboard before they knock (that is, if they knock: some students just barge right in).

    Anyway, I do like your sign: it’s more direct than lying!

Leave a Reply

